Four Months: On My Back

Dear Amélie,

Sometimes I wonder if you’ll look back at pictures of your infancy and think your mother is weird. Are you going to look at them and say, “Wow. My mom was a dirty hippie.”

Or…are the things I’m doing now going to be the norm when you are a mom yourself? I hope that’s true. I hope it’s not going to be weird to cloth diaper your kids and breastfeed them until they are ready to wean themselves and wear them as much as they want to be worn – even on your back!

You should know, that I didn’t expect to be this mom. When I was pregnant with your sister, I only had a vague idea of what I wanted to be like and, for the most part, I failed. With you. Well, with you, I knew what I was getting myself into. So, I toss you over my shoulder and walk around the zoo in 100 degree heat, you sleeping happily against my neck.

I hope you don’t think I’m weird.

Love you always,

Your (dirty hippie) mother

Vital Stats:

  • Likes: Chewing on Sophie (and your dinosaur and your hands and whatever else you can get a hold of), snuggling before bedtime
  • Dislikes: Bedtime
  • New Skills: Rolling over (back to belly), scooting yourself around in a circle
  • Weight: 14 pounds, 1 ounce
  • Height/Length: 25 inches
About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Dear Amélie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love it! She’s definitely going to know she was loved! What a precious little girl 🙂

    sincerely,
    Another cloth-diapering, breastfeeding, baby-wearing, dirty hippie mom (or, at least, I tried)

    p.s. we love Sophie, too!

Leave a Reply

