Words

I’ve been thinking about words a lot recently.

Sometimes, we underestimate the power of words. Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me. It’s a good lesson to teach your children, but it isn’t the truth.

Words can wound. I seem to have a particular talent for turning a simple phrase into something downright nasty. (Just ask my husband). And how many nights have I spent lying awake in bed replaying a conversation over and over in my head, turning a innocuous phrase into an assault on the very essence of my being.

Sometimes I forget that words can heal us, too. I hesitate to say things like, I’m thinking about you or, even, I love (care about) you. They can seem like empty phrases. For someone like me, however, it can turn a day that was full of despair and desperate thoughts into something a little brighter. I need to hear those words. I also need to remember that other people need to hear those words, too.

I love you.

I’m thinking about you.

It will get better.

What brought this on? There is a a little thing going around the internet: February Photo a Day (there was also one in January, but I didn’t do that). I thought I would give a shot, even though I’m handicapped by my lack of smartphone. Also, I’m already a day behind but I’m going to try to do two tomorrow to catch up. We’ll see how long this lasts.

For all photos, go here.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on February 3, 2012, in February Photo A Day (2012), Musings, Snapshots. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

