32 Weeks

“You’re large and in charge.”

Because your lady bits are all wonkadoodle.”

My husband, ladies and gentlemen. He really knows how to charm his wife, doesn’t he?

Today was the long anticipated ultrasound to determine my fate. Will there be a c-section in my future?

Well, let’s start at the beginning of my day, shall we? I was awakened at about 3:30 this morning because our asshole of a neighbor does not understand that practicing his guitar in the middle of the night is not socially acceptable. Then I spent the rest of the night tossing and turning and stressing myself out. Although I did manage to doze off for awhile, I was pulled from the bed by the sounds of Lorelei having an epic meltdown over not being allowed to drink out of a plastic water bottle (because it would end up spilled everywhere – history has proven this).

By the time I got to the doctor’s office, I was thankful for the time in the waiting room to read my book in peace (Side note: Do not pick a 700-page book as your first book of the year if you intend to keep your resolution of reading two books a month). And then…and then, about five minutes into my ultrasound, my back really started to bother me. It’s not unusual for my back to bother me but  a small change in position will normally do the trick. No such luck today. I crossed my ankles the other way, bent my knees…and then I started to feel hot and sweaty. (I’m such an attractive pregnant woman, aren’t I?) I felt like a crazy person. I was just lying there and I felt like I had just finished a hard workout. Fortunately, my ultrasound tech picked on my discomfort and had me roll on my side.

Other than those few sweaty, nauseated minutes, the ultrasound was surprisingly pleasant and  – unlike past experiences – fairly quick. What are the results? Everything’s fine. Three months of anxiety for nothing. I should be thankful for the good news but…

HAHAHAHAHA!

My body is messing with me. After I got the good news at my ultrasound, I had to spend an hour waiting for my regular appointment. And then…then! Guess what? There was protein in my sample and my blood pressure was elevated! Hooray!

Oh wait.

Those are not good things. *headdesk*

My doctors have a tendency to be very, “It’s probably not a big deal, nothing to worry about…” when it comes to things like this. Probably because they sense that I tend to have a lot of anxiety. She assured me that since the test they do in the office is pretty basic, it could just be a false positive but with my blood pressure being on the high side – for me, not for a normal person, I usually have the blood pressure of a Buddhist monk – they were going to send another sample out to the lab. So, now…I wait.

Again.

Vital Statistics:

  • Weight: 163 pounds (23 pounds of weight gain)
  • Measuring at: 30 weeks (actually am 32 weeks, 2 days)
  • Baby’s Weight: 4 pounds, 5 ounces (40th percentile)
  • Cravings: Cottage cheese, discount Christmas chocolates from Aldi, ice cubes (always with the ice cubes)
  • Food aversions (they’re back!): Mayonnaise (and that’s a real tragedy).
About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m very happy and not the least bit surprised at the ultrasound result. And have you tried Breakstone’s cottage cheese? Excellent stuff.

Leave a Reply

