29 Weeks

Things have been better. Sort of.

Last week, at my monthly appointment, I broke down in tears in front of my doctor. That doesn’t sound like it would be improvement, but considering my state of mind of the last few weeks, it wasn’t surprising. It was actually a relief to be able to tell someone about how completely overwhelmed I’ve been feeling. I’ve been feeling the pressure of trying to care for an active (and increasingly stubborn) toddler while, at the same time, getting things ready for a newborn. Not just getting things ready, but the idea of caring for two small children has really started to terrify me. I am, however, hopeful that once the new year comes and we have a little more room to breath (financially-speaking) and can start preparing for things for real that some of the stress will lessen.

Well, that’s my current mental state. Physically, I’m doing pretty well. Other than being pretty tired and a wicked case of heartburn, I’m feeling better. I am, however, supposed to keep an eye on all these damn contractions I’ve been having. My doctor wasn’t super concerned, but she said that since I was having them so often, if they started to become more regular – even 10 minutes apart for an hour – that I needed to go down to my old friend Pregnancy Assessment just to be on the safe side. So, there’s that…

Thing I Have Been Craving This Week: Ice cubes. Yeah. I don’t know either.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

