A Day on the Farm

Yesterday, we played hooky and headed west. Not too far west, just far enough to get to Purina Farms.

Hi, I’m a cow. You’re going to watch me get milked later.

It all started with a headache. Okay, that’s not entirely true. It all started with getting woken up in the wee hours of the morning by the just weaned toddler – who wasn’t sleeping very well to begin with OMFG – and then not being able to go back to sleep and then having a horrible headache of doom! So, while Brian took Lorelei to get our traditional Sunday donuts – two things a) Lorelei doesn’t get any 2) shut up, it’s our weekly crappy food splurge and bonus 3) okay, I’d be lying if I didn’t say my diet has been really bad the last few weeks but whatever LET ME HAVE MY DONUTS! Where was I? Well, Lorelei went with him because as he headed towards the door she started to throw a tantrum and go “NONONONO!” Yeah, it’s cute that she doesn’t want her daddy to leave. While they were gone, I sat on the couch like the lazy bum that I am and thought about what we could do that was cheap and fun. Thought the first was Eckert’s but they don’t have any of the fun kid stuff open right now. Grant’s Farm? Hello, twelve dollars for parking. No. We’ve been to the zoo a half dozen times already this summer. It was time for something different.

So. Purina Farms it was. By the way, worst website ever. It was impossible to find any of the pertinent information. You know, like what time they opened. Oy.

Upon our arrival, Lorelei was instantly drawn to this:

Woo! Let’s learn about making pet food!

It was difficult, but we managed to drag her away with the promise of cows! and horses! Also, toy tractors just waiting to be filled with corn kernels:

Yes, Lorelei. Your parents are totally going to cave and buy you your very own toy tractor.

Honestly, it’s a pretty small place so there isn’t a whole lot to do. Lorelei had a good time seeing all the animals though. And, of course, riding a small tractor:

Lorelei’s new favorite word: Tractor. Or twacktar, as she pronounces it.

The highlight of the trip was the dog show (naturally).

Diving dog. Totally didn’t get the pool in the picture. My bad.

We finished off our excursion with some pretty nasty (but delicious food)

Okay. Look. I really don’t want to talk about how badly I’ve been eating lately. Well, I do. Because I know I need to get better. I also know that I’m pregnant and most things make me feel nauseous still (including vegetables, I’m not even kidding), so I go with what I’m not going to throw up later in the day. Anyway…

That was my weekend. What did you all do the last few days?

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Notes, Snapshots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

