Ten Weeks

What’s the best word to describe this pregnancy so far? Surreal.

It’s hard for me to believe that I’m actually pregnant even with the daily reminders of bone-crushing fatigue, all-day nausea and cramps. Perhaps it’s because I’ve done this once before and there is a certain feeling of this being completely old hat now. When I was pregnant with Lorelei, I thought about it constantly. I was reading books constantly and checking on the internet for every little twinge or weird feeling I had. Now, I am all Pfft, I know what I’m doing. But I really don’t. I don’t feel significantly better prepared for things this time around despite my previous experience. I really don’t have any idea what I’m doing.

This week, my little kidney bean is about an inch long. That’s about the size of a kumquat if you’re into fruit comparisons. (You’re standing in my kumquats!) I’m feeling a little better and the vomiting seems to have stopped (for now, knock on wood). I’m waiting for the day when I stop feeling like going back to sleep the second I wake up, but I think I might have to wait awhile longer.

Things that are awesome: Marinara sauce, lamb ragout, gumbo. Taking a long bath, swimming laps in the pool.

Things that are NOT awesome: The flight cage at the zoo and walking past the penguin exhibit (bird poop and fish! barf). Asshat neighbors who interrupt my precious nap time with their douchey guitar music.

Still no picture everyone. Although my bloat is impressive, I still feel too turd-like to want to commit this moment to pictures.

Nine Weeks

 

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

