Summer List: Bubbles

It seems like everyone on the entire Internet has a summer must-do list. Mine is simple: blow bubbles, go to the pool, be outside, enjoy being with my little girl before she gets to big.

Yesterday, I was having a hard time with the enjoying being with Lorelei part of my list. We had gone to our playgroup’s big Yay! It’s-the-first-day-of-summer-CELEBRATION (not the official title) in the morning and, as per usual, she fell asleep in the car on the way home. It would have been fine if it hadn’t been right before lunch and she hadn’t woken up the second we got home. I spent the rest of the day wanting to bang my head against the wall. She was tired and cranky but refused to be put down for another nap – I tried, I promise. It was just one of those days and she was working my last nerve.

I exhausted my usual go-to entertainment options for those non-nap days – our favorite bookstore and the nearby crunchy granola kids’ store. I also exhausted my money. It looked like it was getting ready to rain and I wanted to stick close to home in case of a downpour. That really only left me with one option: bubbles.

Fortunately for me, this was right around the time the husband got home for work. We all got to spend a few minutes outside enjoying a relatively pleasant summer evening and each other’s company.

Tell me, what are your favorite summer activities? Any suggestions for when I’m at my wits end and out of ideas for entertaining the short person?

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

