Baby Shower Tea Party

Although I knew Meredith from before, we really got to know each other in the Fall of 2009 when the two of us – and our friend Julie – would meet every Friday and knit at the London Tea Room (LTR). So, it really was no surprise that her baby shower would have an afternoon tea theme. And, since I am insane, I took on the cooking duties.

One of the most delicious things that you can get at the LTR is big fat slice of blueberry lemon cake. Oh how I wish I could have found a recipe for it. Alas, we settled for the cake pictured above. Meet the Lemon Layer Cake with Curd and Blueberries. As you can see, mine looks almost nothing like the picture. So, uh, I had some trouble and the cake didn’t poof (technical term) and I couldn’t cut the layers in half. So I just slapped some lemon curd on top too and threw on some extra blueberries and called it good. And it was.

Since one cake is never enough, cake number two was CHOCOLATE! With a chocolate glaze and shaved chocolate on top. Oh, yes.

Tea Parties require scones. This is a great basic recipe that is easily modified with your favorite flavor. I did a plain one with cinnamon sugar on top and also a raisin version. Serve with strawberry jam (and Devonshire cream if you can find it while wandering around Dierberg’s at nine on a Friday night – I couldn’t). Ahem.

As for the rest, we had a spread of fruits and veggies and crackers and cheese (provided by one of my cohorts) and I whipped up an assortment of tea sandwiches. Little rounds with cucumber slices and cream cheese with a hint of fresh mint. Chicken salad and curried egg salad on triangles.

And now I’m hungry thinking about it. I wonder if I have enough stuff to make another batch of scones…

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Notes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

