"Grown Up"

Lorelei, minutes old

When Lorelei came into this world, a squirming little red bundle of arms and legs and enormous head, it finally dawned on me: I’m responsible for another life. There is this tiny person who needs me for everything. She needs me to feed her and clothe her and bathe her and change her poopy diapers. She wants me to snuggle her and hold her when she cries and kiss her when she falls down. And I do it, even when I feel completely crappy.

We’ve been through a lot, our little family. It hasn’t always been easy, but we have survived. There is laughter and dancing and bad singing. There are books read over and over until they start to fall apart and there are tea parties with Daddy. There is a little girl with a smile so big it can light up even the darkest days and a laugh so loud and beautiful it can drown out the bad thoughts in my head.

This wasn’t the plan. I didn’t plan on growing up and becoming an Adult, with a capital A so soon. But I did.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on March 29, 2011, in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

