Just Another Snow Day

Guess what? It snowed again yesterday. You know, because it’s winter and everything.

Through the window

I love and hate the snow.

I love watching the giant flakes fall, sparkling in the street lamps as it blankets the complex in bright white. Early in the morning, before the rest of the world is fully awake, I love seeing the undisturbed powder. No footprints or car tracks.

I hate the snow after a days worth of melt. The drifts have turned black from the dirt on the road. I hate putting my booted foot into slush.

I love that it makes me want to snuggle and drink copious amounts of hot chocolate. It makes me just want to lie on the floor in the baby’s room while she plays on and around me. She loves to look out the window and chatter at the world around her.

Look Mommy! Snow!

When can we go outside?

Enough pictures. Let's play!

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on January 11, 2011, in Musings, Snapshots and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Alicia Lewis Finlayson

    We already have snow on the ground (of course, doesn’t everybody?) from the weekend and now we’re getting more. Geez….I’m sick of snow. I’m like you. I like snow when it is pretty and new and I don’t have to go out of the house. I don’t like it when I have to get Patrick to school and I have to get to the office. I heard on the news just this evening that there is snow on the ground in 49 of the 50 states. Florida is the exception. Unbelievable, huh?

    • Geez! I can’t believe so many people have snow! It seems like every five seconds I hear about more accumulation somewhere. It’s nice that I don’t really have to be anywhere but, after awhile, I get sick of being trapped at home. Hope it stops soon.

  2. Snow is a rarity in Oklahoma but we have crazy cold temps right now. Beautiful pics of Lorelei! Thanks so much for the kind words today! 🙂

  3. I can’t decide if I like it to be cold and snowy or just cold. At least when there’s snow it seems like you’re getting something out of it being so cold.

    And you’re welcome!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Just Another Snow Day | Adventures of an Urban Housewife -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

