Christmas in Shrewsbury

I should probably write a real post about Christmas, but I’m just now not feeling like death warmed over and it’s five days out so I don’t think that’s happening. How about some pictures?

If only we hadn’t been dying of the plague, we might have been able to enjoy the beautiful snowfall we got Christmas Eve.

Our stockings were hung by the chimney on the front door because we live in an apartment with no fireplace. Lorelei has a hand knitted one from great-grandma.

Ornaments hung with ribbon because I didn’t want any hooks to fall off and then be eaten by the small child. Glad we only had the tree up for a week, today she discovered that she could take the ornaments off the tree.

Shiny presents! Despite the “only buying gifts for the baby” rule we made for ourselves, we had a lot of gifts to open this year. We are very blessed in friends and family.

Opening one gift on Christmas Eve…

A xylophone! This is her current favorite toy, unfortunately for me. So loud.

Christmas morning means wrapping paper hats…

…and bows on butts.

Of course, Lorelei had to help Daddy unwrap his presents. While holding a knit banana. Yes.  A knit banana.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas if you celebrate it.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on December 29, 2010, in Snapshots and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is the point where I kinda wish I’d told you that yesterday she spent part of the afternoon wandering around with the mitten ornament. She really likes the jingly noise.

  2. Alicia Lewis Finlayson

    Great pictures. Although I know that the xylophone can be a bit annoying, it brought a smile to my face because I just love those things for little ones. Kirsten – I just bet that you and Brian had one when you guys were little.

  3. I bought what I think is the exact same candle holder you have hanging off your deck at World Market last week. Now I just need to acquire hammer and nails to hang it up.

Leave a Reply

