Bouncing

I have been up since 5:30 this morning. Not by choice, of course. Since Lorelei is almost sleeping through the night I would rather not disturb her schedule if it can be avoided. Unfortunately, I had to drive out to em effing St Charles to pick Brian up from one of his studies at 6:30 this morning. Having one car saves us lots of money, but it is a giant pain in my rear end sometimes.

So, after dragging my ass out of bed and pulling on yesterday’s jeans and Brian’s fleece, I approached the sleeping bear small child with great trepidation. Waking Lorelei up before she is good and ready can go one of two ways: 1) epic tantrum or 2) mild tantrum. Either way, I was going to be treated to some crying.  Lucky for me, this morning was a mild tantrum and I managed to change her diaper and pull on a hoodie without too much difficulty. I gathered up the cloth diapers and put them on the porch for pick-up. This is a chore which usually falls to Brian; since I’m the one who normally changes said diapers, I don’t want to deal with the poop diaper receptacle more than is absolutely necessary. UGH.

Just after 6 am, Lorelei was bundled into the car with her blanket and her owl and I fully expected her to go to sleep. When I stopped at Starbucks for the necessary unless I wanted to fall asleep at the wheel pumpkin spice latte, she was still awake. As the asshole on the interstate tailgated me instead of just going around me (and the car in front of me who was the one who was the real problem), she was still awake. When “Tusk” came on the radio – by the way, is that not one of the most random songs – she was still awake. Pulling into the lot?  You guessed it. She was still wide awake.

At almost 10 am, Lorelei has been up for four hours and she is incredibly bouncy. She’s spent most of the morning wandering around the apartment, pulling stationery out of the desk, chasing the cats, attempting to unravel a roll of toilet paper, etc. She’s only sat still long enough to eat breakfast, watch an episode of Gabba and play with her shape puzzle. Even then she was pretty bouncy.  Bouncing along to the music on the TV show and bouncing and clapping whenever she sort of kind of got a puzzle piece in the right place.

What is she doing now? Stumbling drunkenly around the hallway with Brian’s Santa hat pulled down over her eyes. I would take it away from her, but it’s a) really cute and b) she would be pissed if I even tried.

It’s okay, though. My friend Rory will be here in just a few hours and I feel like bouncing myself!

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on December 20, 2010, in Notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. a) I love Tusk.
    b) Have fun with Rory!

  2. Alicia Lewis Finlayson

    It sounds like your day got off to a rather rocky start but then evolved into a pretty nice one. I’m glad.

Leave a Reply

