Comfort Food

It must be something about the weather.   There’s a chill wind in the air that stabs right to the bone.  It’s the weather for dressing in too many layers and snuggling under layers of blankets.  It’s the weather for eating.

My comfort foods aren’t the traditional fare.  I like mac ‘n cheese, but it’s not what I go to when I’m feeling down.  Meatloaf, enh.  Give me a big plate of mexican food with refried beans and rice and guacamole.  That’s my comfort food.  Or perhaps a mess of fettuccine with shrimp and scallops in a decadent cream sauce.  I’ll eat that in a heartbeat when I feel blue.

I can’t say I’ve been one hundred percent good at staying gluten-free the last few months.  I try, but I still fail almost daily.  I console myself with the fact that I usually only do it one meal a day and it’s usually not too bad.  Cutting back has really helped me feel less sick and I do notice when I cheat but it’s not as terrible as it used to be.  But this cold weather and my Christmas blues have lead to some serious backsliding.

This week I’ve made: Chicken Pot Pie with the perfect pie crust.  It really is perfect, so flaky and delicious it is worth every single intestinal pain.  I would take a bath in the gravy, made with a whole cup of flour.

Tonight, in addition to the brisket that I just roasted in the oven for five hours, I’m making some cobbler.  Blackberry cobbler full of sugar and delicious delicious flour.

Next year, I’ll wake up from my food coma and get back on track.  But right now I’m going to revel in sugar-filled deliciousness.  What about all of you?  What are your comfort foods?  Anything that can derail you from your diet?

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on December 17, 2010, in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. dysfunctionalsupermom

    I’m a starch lover myself. Mac & cheese are always a win, but good soups will get me every time. Friday night I tried a new recipe for beer-cheese soup & it was a huge FAIL. More like beer-cheese spackle. Awful. Sad. Nasty. And I don’t screw up in the kitchen often. Left me horribly saddened.
    Tonight, however I redeemed byself with chicken tortilla soup. Yummmy. Warm & just spicy enough. And enough for seconds & thirds and…well, you get the picture. 😉

    • I’m with you. I love soups and I always make enough to stick at least one meal’s worth in the freezer so I have it for later. And tortilla soup sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

