Blue Christmas

“You’re ruining my Christmas!” I declared, stamping my foot a little.

I was standing off to the side of one of Target’s aisles, trying not to get in the way as other shoppers bustled past, carts overflowing with presents and wrapping paper and decorations.  My own cart, by comparison, held one roll of the cheap wrapping paper and a couple of small toys.  Brian was on the phone and we were deciding what presents to buy Lorelei.  I had called him to help me decide which of two possibilities to get her; but, as we were talking, I realized that I wanted to get her both.

Christmas is my favorite holiday.  I love the smell of fresh cut pine trees and baking cookies.  I love picking out funky ornaments and putting out the Christmas towels.  My favorite part, however, is buying presents.  I don’t care about getting presents myself, give me one or not, I’m not going to think anything less of you.

I love making a list of all the people who are important to me that I want to get something special and jot down ideas.  I’ll wander into stores I normally never go into.  I’ll buy fancy coffee and soup mixes from Harry & David.  I’ll spend hours (small exaggeration) sniffing everything in Lush.

This year, however, we decided to only buy presents for the baby and our parents and Brian’s grandmother.  If we didn’t limit ourselves, we would end up going overboard and spending more money than we have in our budget.  It sucks to be  a responsible adult, but it was the sensible thing to do.  I think I’m taking it harder than Brian is.

If I can’t get presents for everyone, I at least want to get lots of gifts for Lorelei.  It’s almost a given that she’s going to like the boxes and paper more than the gifts themselves, but I need to have my fun.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on December 16, 2010, in Confessions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Alicia Lewis Finlayson

    I found “Adventures of an Urban Housewife” through Brian’s Facebook and have read many of your posts, both old and new. To put it simply, I think they are wonderful. I was only with you a couple of times and although you seemed to me to be a nice person and I could clearly see that you loved Brian very much, you were quiet and I think that because of that you would be hard to get to know. I have learned so much about you and what you’re about from reading your posts and your love for Brian and Lorelei is so loving and tender.

Leave a Reply

