12 Months

Dear Lorelei,

Congratulations!  You’ve made it through an orbit around the sun!

Twelve months ago, you were barely blinking your eyes open.  You had two states: eating and sleeping.  Oh, and wanting to do one of those two things.  The first couple days in the hospital were so hard that, on days when I feel like I’ve reached the end of my rope, I remind myself that it’s been much worse.

There are some days I wish I could go back in time and enjoy the first few months a bit more instead of being so stressed out; but you are turning into a pretty awesome little girl.  Energetic.  Wiggly.  You love to dance and clap.  You like to bang things against the wall (or coffee table or bathroom floor).  You like to wander around the apartment carrying various items – usually “rescued” from my bag – and chatter at me.  You pull your books off the shelf and flip through the pages.  You talk to the pictures.  I wish I could know what goes on in your head.

I can’t wait to see what the next twelve months will bring!

Love,

Your Mother

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on November 8, 2010, in Dear Lorelei and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

