A.W.O.L.

Hey.  Did you miss me?  Well, I’ve been busy.  My friend, Karen, was in town from New York and she hung out with me most of Friday afternoon.  I picked her up from the airport, we wandered around Wash U’s campus, we napped.  Saturday was a busy day of baking and preparing for my church’s trivia night.  Trivia nights, as we all know, are very serious business.  Especially, when costumes are involved:

“Viktor Krum” and “Harry Potter”

Be impressed with Josh (Krum)’s costume because he made it himself AND he only decided on his character the day before.

“Death Eater” Frank and Lorelei

Originally, we were going to actually dress Lorelei up as Hedwig, but we couldn’t find an owl costume that didn’t look totally stupid.  Instead, she was The Owlery, complete with sign (made 10 minutes before we left the house) and stuffed owl.

The whole crew: The Owlery (Lorelei), Generic Hogwarts Student (Cecily), Fleur (Beth), Voldemort (Erich), Death Eaters (Frank and Julie), Professor Trelawney (Meredith), Viktor Krum (Josh), Ginny Weasley (Me) and Harry Potter (Brian)

You can’t really tell, but I did put some comb-in dye in my hair.  However, I didn’t buy nearly enough to get all of it dyed.  Surprisingly, we did not win the costume contest.  Lame.

Then today was Julie’s shower at the tea room:

Place Setting and favors

Tower of cupcakes

The Bride

Now, I think I need to sleep for several days to recover from all this fun.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on October 31, 2010, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

