Thankful Thursday: Sick Baby Edition

This week’s post is brought to you by Lorelei’s cold.  That’s right folks, my baby who never gets sick was down with the sniffles for the better part of the last week.  Fortunately, there was no fever and she is much better today.  Thank goodness for that because I was getting tired of her screaming every time I tried to use the nasal aspirator on her – you know so she could breath – and having to wipe nasty snot off her face with my hand.  Let me tell you, wet boogers hanging out of a baby’s nostril is about as disgusting as it sounds.

On to my thanksgivings:

1. My other husband Getting a Massage
With everything that has been going on over the last six months, I had to freeze my membership at the massage place.  (Don’t I sound like the snobbiest person ever?)  Of course, the last six months have been really hard and I have needed a massage like whoa.  On Tuesday, finally, I got the chance.  I love my massage therapist, Nate.  Yes, he’s a dude and no, I don’t care that I’m naked under that sheet.  My back and shoulder had been giving me trouble since I fell out of the swing the other week and now they are better.  Thanks Nate!

2.  Being a domestic diva
Sunday, I cooked and baked.  A lot.  I put a double batch of Acorn Squash Coconut Curry Bisque into the crock pot and froze half.  I baked two apple pies and froze one.  I made a big dish of chile cheese grits and meatloaf.  It’s been nice having food already ready to go this week.  I’ve been struggling with cooking dinner every night – especially with a cranky, sniffly baby – but this week, there have been no issues.

3. Crawler’s Class
Can I just say that I was relieved when Lorelei was well enough to go to class this morning?  Not just because I didn’t want another day of crankypants baby, but because she loves this class.  And I love that she has been asleep for almost three hours.  This is the first decent, drama-free nap she’s taken in weeks.  Hallelujah!

What’s everyone else thankful for this week?

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on October 21, 2010, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

