Partners

In some ways, we fall into the stereotypical mother and father roles.  Brian works the nine to five job plus a part-time tutoring job on the side to make ends meet.  I stay at home with the baby and I do most of the mundane household chores.  But just because that’s how things have worked out does not mean that we aren’t still equal partners in this whole parenthood thing.

Yes, I do the most work when it comes to taking care of Lorelei but if I didn’t, how could I justify it to myself that I stay home and don’t work.  Because I spend the most time with her, there are things that I think I know how to do better than he does.  For example, I like to make sure the baby – if not wearing a onesie – is wearing pants whenever she goes down for a nap.  Why is this so important?  Well, you see, she has gotten out of her diaper before.  And I learned my lesson because changing a pee covered crib sheet is not high on my list of things I want to be doing.  It is especially not on my list of things I want to be doing when the situation can be avoided by just putting pants on her!

This afternoon, Brian was home with me for lunch – we had an appointment right before that – and since daughter normally takes her nap right afterwards he was helping me get her ready.  He changed her diaper and rocked her to sleep for a little bit.  I suggested that he put pants on her but because I’m trying not to be a horrible know-it-all nag, I didn’t push it when he didn’t do so.  Oh how I wish I had!  I fell asleep too and I probably did not hear her right when she woke up, but when I did go into check on her, I saw a diaper-less baby standing up in her crib.  Standing in lots of pee.  Also some poop smears.  And it stank.

So, yes, we are partners.  I trust that he can take care of her without my assistance, but if I’m going to be the one who has to change a stinky pee and poop covered crib sheet when I would much rather still be asleep, maybe I’ll be a tad more forceful with my suggestions.  At the very least, it will keep me from yelling at my husband out of frustration.

Today was terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on October 1, 2010, in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

