Alternate Plan

All week I have battling what I’m going to refer to as “THE SINUS INFECTION OF DOOM,” which has made me really cranky and also has made me not want to leave the apartment.  And also eat anything I can shove into my pie hole (but that’s neither here nor there).  So, last night I had to cancel my plans to go to the baseball game which was really for the best since large crowds would probably make me want to stab sharp objects into my eyes.

Today, I had planned on laying around the apartment and recuperating since, for the first time in a month, we had no plans and Brian was actually going to be home.  But alas, taking a “mommy sick day,” meant being away from Brian and I don’t know about you, but I like being with my significant other.  So, I took a deep breath and decided I would go to the Jewel Box with the husband and daughter.

Best laid plans and all…It was closed!  And the balloon race was also this weekend.  Let me tell you, any event in Forest Park brings out some truly terrible characters.  Like the parent who was with their kid (boy? girl?) who was pants-less and peeing out in the middle of the field.  Or the group of people who instead of walking on the other side of the barriers which were put up for the specific purpose of protecting pedestrians from automobiles insisted on walking very slowly RIGHT IN FRONT OF OUR CAR!  No, I get it, you’re a pedestrian you have right of way, yadda yadda yadda, but please if there is somewhere partitioned off for you to walk please don’t be so self-involved that you don’t use it.

Ahem.  Anyway, pictures:

The Jewel Box (closed for “maintenance”)

Lorelei and Brian and part of the war memorial (aka giant sun-dial thing)

My foot (I’m being all arty and shit)

Riding on daddy’s shoulders

Boxes: Best toy ever?

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on September 18, 2010, in Notes, Snapshots and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

