BlogWho?

As posts start to trickle in from around the blogosphere (god, I hate that word) about BlogHer – for those not in the know, big huge fancy blogging conference – this past weekend, I can’t help but be filled with a large dose of jealousy.  I have a problem with envy.  I’m working on it, but we live in a materialistic society and it seems like keeping up with the Joneses is a given.

I wanted to be there.  Not because I wanted to network or “build my brand” (puke) but because in the past year, when I have felt so isolated and alone, I have made a lot of connections with other really cool women through the amazing power of the internet.  I wanted to be able to go up to them and give them a hug.  I wanted to tell AndreAnna in person that I spent most of the last months of my pregnancy while I was laid up with my bad ankle reading all of her old entries and wishing that I lived closer to her because, damn she was the kind of person I wanted as a friend.  I wanted to tell The Bloggess that I almost snorted water from laughing at her posts.  I wanted to have drinks with Cass and Rougie.  I wanted to see Pocklock’s baby bump in person (is that weird).  I wanted to meet new people.

And it was in New York.  I have friends in New York.  Lots of friends who I never get to see because travel is expensive and travel with a baby seems impossible.

But, as I have to constantly remind myself, things work out for the best.  We had to move.  I wasn’t comfortable leaving the baby because I spent zero time worrying about pumping and having stockpiled breastmilk and getting her used to a bottle with any sort of regularity.  In reality, I probably would have spent the entire trip worrying and calling Brian every five seconds – or the opposite, not worrying and then feeling guilty about not worrying – and, therefore not enjoying myself.

Instead, I spent this weekend at home.  In my pajamas.  Hooked up to tinychat and connecting with a whole other group of cool chicks through the power of blogher@home.  Lu and Jen hosted an awesome online party.  I was introduced to the magic that is Kim (whose voice I could listen to all day long).  We talked about inappropriate things and serious things.  I laughed so loudly that I was afraid I was going to wake up the baby.  I drank a large quantity (for me) of sweet tea bourbon and woke up seriously hungover.  It was great, and while I still wish I had made it to NYC, this was almost better.  When I was feeling shy and awkward, I could just read the chat and not join in instead of standing in a corner looking like an idiot.  And, unless someone wants to pay for me to go to San Diego (or we can work a family vacation into it somehow), I probably won’t be going next year.  And if so, you can bet I will be curled up in bed with a pitcher of booze and my laptop!

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in Notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You were definitely missed and that was one of the nicest compliments I’ve ever received, thank you!

  2. so glad to hear you had a great experience with blogherathome this year!

  3. BHAH was really great this year. I wish I could have taken part a little more but I had family visiting so it wasn’t in the cards. I’m glad to hear you had such a great time and maybe you and I will both be at home with our booze next august 🙂

  4. Ha! I wrote almost exactly this same post. 🙂 Except I didn’t do blogher at home and kind of wish I had!

Leave a Reply

