You Can Speak Your Mind…

…but not on my time.

Oh Billy Joel, you talented drunk.

I try not to get involved in debates about how to raise my daughter.  Not with my mother (sorry Mom) or the in-laws or my friends.  And I especially do not want to get drawn into a debate with a relative stranger.

Guess what?  My daughter uses a pacifier.  Big freaking deal.

I will admit that I didn’t want her to use one.  Not because I am morally opposed to them, but I didn’t want to have to deal with the drama of taking it away from her when she got too old.  Would sucking her thumb be any better?  No.  Do you know why?  Because you can’t just take her thumb away from a kid and tell them they aren’t allowed to suck it anymore.  I’m sure that would work splendidly.

Lorelei went through a phase – the same phase that all babies go through I’m sure – when she constantly wanted to suck.  As a new mother who still had no idea what she was doing, I thought maybe she was just hungry.  But no.  I would try to nurse her and she would scream bloody murder after five seconds but then would want to suck more.  I had no idea what she wanted and there I was just muddling through.  I was tired and my boobs were sore (you’re welcome) and there is nothing worse than listening to my baby cry and not have anything to fix it.  So we got her a binky and the relief was almost instantaneous, like a heating pad on a sore muscle.

Sure there are days when she is really dependent on them and (god forbid) if it falls out of her mouth while she’s sleeping it is THE END OF THE WORLD but mostly she does without them.  She is more interested in shoving whatever random thing lying around the apartment into her mouth and pulling books off of shelves and playing with remote controls.

So, lady who I don’t know: you can say that you don’t let your grandkids use their pacifiers when they’re at your house but I really don’t give a shit.  I do what I have to so that my daughter is happy and healthy.  And I’m sure the older she gets the more things that I will discover I have to compromise on.

If I ask for your advice, please give it.  But don’t judge me and I will do my best not to judge you.  No one is perfect.  We are all just muddling through.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on July 29, 2010, in Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a bitch. I hate when people give unsolicited advice. I mean, unless it’s an emergency and I’m wondering what the hell I should do. I try to never give it beyond the absurd to make someone laugh so… I don’t consider that real advice. Um… I’m babbling.

  2. Just smile and nod and let it go directly to your mental trash file.

Leave a Reply

