Reality. It Sucks.

This weekend was great.  Awesome even.  It was two days of almost total relaxation.  Saturday, I lounged for an hour all alone at SBux and read.  I got to have a friend over for our apartment’s monthly BBQ and we got to go swimming with the little bit.  Sunday was my birthday.  Brian almost completely took over the care of the baby while I slept and lounged in bed.  I got pedicures at the mall with two of my good friends and then we wandered around for an hour.  And then, happiest part, second date night post-baby for my birthday dinner.  Gluten-free pasta carbonara with lobster and a pomegranate martini.  It was heavenly.

Today, however, is sucking the big one.

Because I’m dumb, I scheduled a teeth cleaning for the husband and myself at eight o’clock this morning.  A fact which I forgot repeatedly over the last several days.  I hate the dentist.  I take okay care of my teeth, thank goodness, but every time I get the lecture about brushing better and flossing.  I’ll get right on th- LORELEI STOP GETTING INTO THE TRASH CAN!  Oh yeah.  Most mornings I’m lucky to shower and get deodorant on.

Despite that, not a bad trip.  A mostly painless half an hour and then it was back home.  Back home to extreme nausea, the shakes and a fever.  Seriously.  Almost passed out just from the effort of changing the baby’s diaper.

Can we go back to this weekend please?  That was so much better than this reality.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in Notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The almond milk – I think that’s what it is. I’ve been sick too, and that’s the only thing we have in common. But you have it worse because you had more of it than I did.

    • If it is, that’s strange. I’ve had almond juice/milk before and it never made me sick and I drank an entire carton in like… a day. Then again, I’ve been noticing that a lot of people have gotten sick recently. This could be due to the sudden thunderstorms and such and the river. A lot of the people who’ve been getting weirdly sickly have sinus problems…

Leave a Reply

