Indulgence

Even though we’re trying to be good by eating in most of the time, what’s the fun of that without the occasional dessert.  Well, since I’m almost never in the mood to make anything too complex, I was lucky to remember a recipe I saw on food network back during my last months of pregnancy when I was mostly laid up at home with my bum ankle: ricotta cappuccino.  I know it sounds kind of weird to make a dessert out of ricotta – Brian was worried it would taste too much like he was eating lasagna – but trust me, it is delicious.  Find the original recipe here and below you will find my recipe, slightly tweaked:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • Splash of vanilla extract (I didn’t measure but probably about a teaspoon)
  • 1 (15 oz) container whole-milk ricotta cheese
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons instant espresso powder
  • 2 Chocolate-flavored biscotti, crushed
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of cocoa powder

Place sugar and vanilla extract in blender (cause I don’t have a food processor *sad face*) and pulse until combined.  Add the ricotta (and yes, you need the whole-milk kind otherwise the consistency will be all wrong) and espresso powder and blend until smooth.  Side note: this is probably easier in a food processor, my blender certainly had problems, but it can be done.  Spoon the mixture into 4 small coffee cups and place in the fridge.  Let chill for at least one hour.

Remove from fridge, dust the top with cinnamon, cocoa powder and crushed biscotti.

The servings are not all that big, but trust me you will feel full and your sweet tooth will be satisfied.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on July 10, 2010, in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

