Trying

One of my goals (not really a resolution) for the new year was to eat better and cook at home more.  Thanks to being seriously broke, making the choice to stay home instead of going out to eat was already made for us.  For the last few weeks, I would make up a weekly menu, making sure I selected meals that would be good for the husband’s lunch the next day and that used similar ingredients so I didn’t end up throwing away half a bag of spinach or leftover rice.  So far, it has worked out surprisingly well.  We slipped once – thanks to the husband working late one night – and I had fast food for dinner that night and then we were on vacation which meant we ate like total crap.  Delicious delicious crap.

But I’m trying, and Brian already has noticed a change in his weight.  Now, Brian is not a big guy and he certainly doesn’t need to lose weight, but side-effects of not eating fatty nasty food means that he’s starting to get skinny again.  I haven’t really noticed much in the way I look, but I was certainly feeling a lot better before the vacation.  Because of my oh so fun stomach issues, I’ve had to be super careful with what I eat – not eating too much, not eating too much greasy food, etc, etc – but I didn’t really keep up with that while we were away and I’m feeling like crap again.  Well, now I’m back on the bandwagon.  The menu for dinner’s this week (neatly written on a free Wash U postcard, by the way) looks something like this:

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast for dinner: Scrambled eggs with diced onions, tomatoes and dill

Wednesday:

  • Tuscan White Bean and Garlic Soup
  • Spinach Salad with Dijon Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Crusty Italian-Style Bread (for dipping)

Thursday:

  • Open-faced Chicken Parmesan Sandwiches
  • Ricotta Cappuccino (it’s a dessert!)

Friday:

  • Breaded Chicken Tenders with Herbed Olive Oil
  • White rice and sauteed spinach
  • Ricotta Cappuccino

Saturday:

  • Chicken Fajita Bowls

Sunday:

  • Balsamic and Brown Sugar Marinated Steak Sandwiches with Butterkase

Sounds yummy, no?

In addition to being very careful with my meal planning, I’m also becoming more interested in the “primal diet,” thanks to fellow blogger AndreAnna and her new primal blog.  I’m intrigued by the idea of living without grains although I admit to being very dependent on bread.  But (in addition to about half a dozen other books), I’ve requested some books about it from the library so I can learn more.  I don’t know if it’s going to be really affordable for us to do that right now – bread and rice and such are so cheap! – but perhaps sometime in the future.  I don’t really care about losing weight, I just want to feel better.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on July 6, 2010, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Unfortunately bread and rice are cheap because they’re subsidized by the government, as well as the USDA’s food pyramid and RDAs which are all influenced by $$$, Big Phara, and the agriculture empire. It’s gross.

    It’s sad.

    Regardless, your menu sounds awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

