Words That End in -itis

…or why I hate doctors strongly dislike having to go to any sort of health care establishment.  (No disrespect to my friends and acquaintances who work in the field, I don’t hate you)

I tend to be sick a lot.  Not really sick and almost never anything serious enough to warrant a trip to the doctor’s office.  I bitch and moan for a few days (or weeks if it’s a sinus infection/being in denial about having allergies), but then I’m over it and I feel better at least for a little while.

Well, just as I was starting to feel recovered from my headaches of doom, I started having stomach pain.  So, I don’t have the best diet in the world.  I try to eat at least somewhat healthfully, but there are times when I really backslide into horrible habits such as getting fast food for dinner or considering a package of Pop Tarts to be a perfectly acceptable lunch.  I thought all the bad eating I had been doing was finally catching up to me – which is technically true – and after a day or two, I would have gotten it out of my system.

No such luck.

I hate going to the doctor because I am worried that they will tell me it’s nothing and then, not only will I not feel better, but I will have wasted money on a copay and my time.  Or worse, they will misdiagnose me.  See: ER doctor who thought I had broken my leg when really I had just sprained the ligaments.  And then there was the ear infection that wasn’t (don’t get me started).

But after five days of feeling stabbing pain, I gave in and let Brian take me to the urgent care.  (Side note: why are urgent cares in St Louis only open between the hours of 9 am and 7 pm?)  Well, after some poking and prodding.  I have a bunch of things wrong with me ending in -itis.  I have gastritis, which as I understand it is an excess of acid in the stomach.  Possibly also duodenitis.  Same thing, different part of the stomach.  And also, there is a problem with my pylorus which makes me feel full after a few bites.  So yeah, my stomach is basically fucked.

Perhaps I should have continued to live in blissful ignorance?  Perhaps not, but man does it suck.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on June 9, 2010, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

