Insomniac (Revisited)

A couple months ago, you may remember me writing about the daughter’s sleeping issues.  There has been a certain amount of improvement – she doesn’t need demon bear to sleep anymore! – but on the whole it’s just as bad, if not worse, than before.

The biggest thing is that she wakes up hungry at least once – usually twice – every single night.  I realize that babies go through growth spurts and these things happen.  But this has been going on for more than a month.  It’s not as if I don’t feed her plenty during the day – I swear! – but still she is hungry at night.  I am at my wits end because I’m exhausted, sick again and, well, exhausted.  That’s how tired I am: it counts twice.  Here’s the gory details: I breastfeed and she has started on solids twice a day.  But she usually won’t eat more than half a container of fruit or vegetables at one sitting.  And then she acts hungry every two to three hours although again, she doesn’t seem to eat that much.  She pees and poops like a champ, so I’m not worried about that but…I don’t know.

And can we talk about the napping?  Impossible to get her to go down for a nap.  Sometimes I can but she only sleeps for half an hour.  And then she’s tired again an hour or two later.  Is it normal for her to only sleep half an hour at a time four or five times a day?

Ugh.  So tired, I feel like this might be entirely incoherent.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know it’s not terribly comforting, but Ferris still wakes up for a 4oz bottle at least twice if not 3 times a night and he’s 11 months old. Pretty sure Henry did the same thing till we finally cut him off and made him cry-it-out when he was well over a year. So, it’s not fun, but it’s normal. When he was nursing, Ferris woke every 2 hours all night even till he was 8 months old, even though he ate pretty well during the day. Eventually they’ll work it out, especially when they get old enough for finger foods and the like. Sorry you’re tired! Henry stopped napping as soon as his brother was born, so I’m with ya’ on the ‘so tired I’m incoherent’ thing.

Leave a Reply

