Justification

Last week was long and exhausting.  I’m really really really (can you tell I’m REALLY) glad that I got to spend so much time with my friend Rory.  She lives all the way in Oregon now which means I never see her.  It was fun to hang out with her at Einstein Bros and then have Chinese food and play Guitar Hero with her and Ryan while the baby took a nap.  We got to go to the Botanical Gardens (my favorite Wednesday morning activity) and walk among all the blooms.  By the way, I was there only a month ago and the difference is astounding, there is so much blooming right now it is incredible.

By the end of the week, however, I was exhausted.  I don’t usually make a lot of plans during the days because I get to nap when Lorelei naps when I’m tired.  If I got next to no sleep the night before, I don’t have to think about putting on real clothes or taking a real shower.  Don’t get me wrong, it was a great week, but I’m glad to be back to normal.  Especially after the marathon crying session of Thursday night and Friday morning.  I swear, she has been teething for a month now and there hasn’t been a whole lot of progress.  Unless you count more screaming as progress.  There’s excessive amounts of drool and a big ol’ bump that shows which tooth it is, but still not much improvement.  I am ready for these teeth to finally arrive.  For the love of G-O-D.

And all this leads me to what I was going to say which is, I don’t have anything particularly exciting to write about.  So, today you get my opinion on those touchy subjects of parenthood.  For kicks.  (Brian calls us granola, in case you were wondering.) I’m not an expert and I am not trying to convince anyone that their way is wrong or that my way is the only way to do things, I just want to get it out there.

  • Breastfeeding: Here’s the deal: I get why many mothers chose not to breastfeed.  It is a pain in the ass.  I spent the first month (or more) with Lorelei attached to my boob twenty-four hours a day (or so it seemed).  Don’t get me started on night number two in the hospital which ended with both of us in tears.  And breastfeeding in public?  Hoo boy.  I’m totally not a fan of whipping my boob out in the Target food court (although I have done it) or enduring the weird looks of random strangers as I sit there trying to feed my daughter.  I’m glad, however, that I don’t have to deal with bottles all the time and carting around formula whenever I go out somewhere.  Do I judge women who bottle feed?  No.  Sometimes it is the only way to go.  If bottle feeding is the only way your child is going to get enough to eat (for whatever reason), far be it for me to tell you that you didn’t try hard enough with the breastfeeding and that somehow formula is going to make your child stupid.
  • Diapers: I use cloth diapers.  Or more specifically, I use a diaper service.  I know that makes me sound all fancy-schmancy uppity, but the longer it’s been the happier I am with this decision.  For starters, Lorelei is a pee and poop factory.  Everyone says that an infant uses ten diapers a day on average. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!  How about 15 or more.  Lorelei would need her own landfill for all the diapers she uses.  And disposables are freakin’ expensive.  We pay $18 bucks a week for diaper service, how much are disposables?  For as many as we use?  And other than the fact that we occasionally run out and have to do a load of diapers ourselves (the horror!  pee diapers!), it has worked out really well so far.
  • Co-Sleeping: For the first two months, Lorelei slept in bed with us.  I know.  We are horrible parents because we slept in the same bed as our daughter.  And by slept, I mean she slept while we – or at least I – lay there in fear that I would roll over and crush her.  It was that or she could just not sleep at all and spend all night crying.  Hmm…I wonder which one most people would choose?  One night, I tried putting her in the crib for a nap and she slept just fine, so afterwards it was all crib all the time for her.  Except for the rare occasion when she is really cranky and won’t nap unless it’s curled up next to me.

So, there you have it.  A few of the many hot topics of parenthood and what I think.  I would love to hear your opinions, just keep it civilized.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on April 19, 2010, in Confessions, Notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

