Five Months

Dear Lorelei,

This month has been hard and I want you to know that it’s not your fault.

I know that you see Mommy cry sometimes.  I know you know that means that I’m sad.  But it’s not because of you.  You are what gets me through the day sometimes.  When you smile at me, I can’t help but smile back.  I feel like my heart is going to explode from how much I love you.  You are so perfect in every single way; from your old man sounding laugh to your shriek of delight to the way you sometimes just look at me and grab hold of my shirt.  The perfect little sweet pea.

In the past month, you have learned to roll over.  Back to tummy, tummy to back, it doesn’t matter to you.  You are an expert roller.  Sometimes I will find you at a completely different angle on the floor because of all your rolling efforts.  Of course, this means that changing you is becoming an epic battle of can I get the diaper back on before you roll over.

You have discovered your feet.  I don’t know why it took you so long, your feet have been fascinating me since day one.  Ten tiny little toes and a ticklish little sole.  Now you are constantly trying to stick them in your mouth or if, GOD FORBID, we put socks on them you must pull them off.  Don’t even get me started on the footed pants.

You have learned to shriek.  Not the horrible screaming that indicates something is wrong and OH MY GOD YOU MUST FIX IT NOW! but the adorable shriek of happiness.  Walking around in Target, you’ll just start shrieking at me.  Not for any reason that I can determine other than you have caught sight of me and want to say hello.  Your cute little noises draw the attention of staff and shoppers alike and I get to enjoy a few moments of gushing over how adorable and well-behaved you are.

So many little things have happened this month.  You are eating solids – well, rice cereal mixed with lots of breast milk – really well and have recently started eating twice a day.  Some days you hardly make any mess.  You have figured out that in order to crawl you need to push up on your arms.  Still can’t crawl, but at least the concepts are becoming clearer.  You’ve been to the botanical gardens again and the zoo.  And you made it through all of Easter service without having a meltdown.  See:

Lorelei and Auntie Cecily

Time is still flying past.  It makes me sad to see you growing up, but I’m still astounded by what I wonderful little girl you are.

Love You Always,

Your Mother

Five months and six hours old

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on April 8, 2010, in Dear Lorelei and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh Kirsten…you made me all weepy!

Leave a Reply

