Side Effects May Vary

I love Spring.  I really do.  After a long and dreary winter consisting of below freezing temperatures, sick mommy and baby, and darkness that seems to last all day; it’s nice to be able to leave the house without five layers of clothing on.  Plus the peach tree is blooming:

Maybe we’ll eat some this year.

Unfortunately, Spring comes with a few side effects.  They include but are not limited to:

  1. Not actually being Spring for long.  Seasonally, it’s still Spring, of course, but the temperatures are not.  One day it’s a beautiful 65 degrees and the next it’s 85.  And, in the past it has even snowed in April.  Or, even better, it starts out in the 40s in the morning and ends up in the 80s by noon.
  2. Sudden weather change may cause sinus infections.  Stabby stabby painful sinus pressure.
  3. Ants.  We are generally pretty clean people.  Sure I don’t vacuum as often as I should, but it’s not like I leave food laying around the house.  We had a pizza box sitting next to the garbage can the other night (it doesn’t fit inside of it) and when Brian went to move it, he found hundreds of ants crawling in and around it.  Ugh.  Even the thought of bugs makes my skin feel itchy.
  4. Speaking of itchy: mosquitos.  They haven’t attacked me yet, but it’s only a matter of time.  I am a mosquito magnet.
  5. The dogs are outside again.  All the time.  And they bark a lot.  They’re the kind of dogs who bark at leaves blowing in the wind.
  6. The worst side effect?  My neighbors.  I’ve harped on this many times, but it bears repeating.  Yes, the weather is nice.  Yes, it’s nice to be outside for a change.  This is does not mean that it is okay to sit on your front porch with your car stereo turned up all the way.  It’s a relatively narrow street and it sounds like the music is coming from inside my own house.  Despite the fact that we have asked them multiple times to turn it down, it lasts about five minutes and then they turn it all the way up again.  We’ve called the cops probably five or six times and I have never seen them actually show up.  (Side note: I am aware that there are much more important crimes going on in our neighborhood, but some response would be appreciated).  And.  And?  This is the kind of music that has a big old EXPLICIT sticker on it.  Just because you’re okay with your four year old hearing that kind of language does not mean that I am okay with my child hearing it.

Okay I’m done.  I will try not to complain about my neighbors again.  At least for a few weeks.

I leave you with one of my favorite things about Spring.  Going to the zoo:

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on April 6, 2010, in Notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Man, I miss that zoo.

  2. Yeah, Lorelei is a HUGE fan of puffins. Also elders (the birds, not the wizened old folks).

  3. HOOOOORAAAAAAAY for L loving the penguin and puffin coast. It was meant to be. 🙂

  4. Edit: EIDERS, not elders. And I just realized you got both of the zoo’s eiders in that photo.

Leave a Reply

