Add One to the Fail Column

I’m trying to be less and doom and gloom over here.  Unfortunately, there are just some weeks that can only be described as FAIL.

Like last week for instance.

Oh, it wasn’t all bad.  The weather was fairly nice.  I managed to go most of the week without having a major meltdown.  I broke out the homemade stock and made a delicious soup over the weekend.  Side note: I’m tempted to never use store bought stock again, homemade is so much better.

In general, however, it was just crappy.  I didn’t get nearly as much done as I would have liked.  My house looks like it was hit by a laundry tornado, the living room is strewn with baby blankets and baby toys and burp clothes.  The kitchen is in desperate need of a cleaning.  And as I mentioned before, major holiday planning fail.

What’s worse, however, I was completely unmotivated to cook.  We had fast food twice for dinner and Chimichangas for lunch one day.  Half the time, I didn’t even feel like making myself anything to eat.  I would scrounge up whatever I could just shove directly into my pie hole.  Or I just wouldn’t eat anything at all.  Until Brian came home and forced something on me.

I don’t like it when I do this.  I want to cook.  I want to eat better.  I want to have a clean non-national disaster area house.  It just didn’t happen.

Today is Monday, however, that means a fresh start.

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on March 22, 2010, in Notes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wait, are you describing yourself or me? Just keep reminding yourself that there will be plenty of time for fancy meals and squeaky clean houses when the kid(s) are in school. In the meantime, the most important thing you can do it spend lots of time with baby. Even if it means that you can’t walk through the livingroom without breaking something (including yourself) or growing new species in the fridge. If you’re really feeling down about it, google Song For a Fifth Child. It might make you cry, but it’ll definitely make you feel better.

Leave a Reply

