Guinness Stew

…or the greatest thing in the history of ever.  According to my husband.

A couple weeks ago, I was really inspired to make me some chicken noodle soup.  What does this have to do with stew?  I’ll get there, you just have to stick with me.  I knew exactly where to turn for a good recipe.  AndreAnna is my crockpot hero.  I have always been reluctant to use them and I only had a tiny one person version that came free with our George Foreman grill.

Where was I?  So, I made the soup with store bought stock.  It was fine.  Very good, even.  However, I aspire to be the kind of housewife that has homemade stock in her freezer at all times.  To do so, I needed a real crockpot.  I went online, did research, asked for advice on Twitter.  Despite all that, I went to TJ Maxx and used my giftcard on what they had there.  Which was a 4-quart model.  I only paid three dollars of my own money for it thought, so I consider this an excellent deal.

I decided to test out my mad crockpoting skills on a recipe that is loosely based on the one you can find here.  I won’t leave you hanging though, I’ll tell you exactly what I did so that you can enjoy it as well.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp canola oil (cause I can’t read recipes apparently and thought the original said 4 Tbsp when in fact it said teaspoons)
  • 1 lb stew meat
  • 1/2 lb sliced baby portobello mushrooms
  • 1 Tbsp (rounded) all-purpose flour
  • 1 bottle Guinness (divided)
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Salt and pepper

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add stew meat and brown on all sides.  Transfer to your crock pot.  Return the skillet to medium heat (do not drain any fat or juices).  Add the mushrooms and saute until they look deliciously brown.  Sprinkle with flour, stir to form a roux.  Add half your bottle of Guinness.  Stirring to reduce foaming, bring to a boil.  Cook until thickened, a few minutes.  Transfer mixture to the crockpot.

Add remaining ingredients: onion, garlic, carrots, mustard, bay leaf, S&P.  Pour in the rest of the beer.  (Side note: I wasn’t thinking when I made this and when everything went in it seemed like half the bottle wasn’t enough so I put the whole bottle in.  It’s going to be a bit more soupy with the whole bottle, so don’t add the extra if you want it thicker.)  Cook on low until beef is very tender, approx 6 hours.  You can leave it on warm for several more hours and it will just keep getting better.

Serve over mashed potatoes or chunk some red potatoes and throw those in while you’re cooking along with the onions, etc.

Then call and thank me for the deliciousness you have just consumed.

 

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on March 13, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad I could help you on your journey of self crockpot discovery!

    I can’t wait to try this recipe- thanks for posting it!

  2. If you still have some guiness left it makes a great corned beef too!

  3. Doesn’t it make more sense to use 2 bottles of Guinness? Half for the stew, 1.5 for the cook?

Leave a Reply

