Confession

I like young adult novels. There, I said it. I’m a 27 year old woman who reads young adult. In my defense, however, there is a lot of really good stuff out there right now. (Of course there is also some really really bad stuff out there. *cough*Twilight*cough*. Which I do admit to reading because it’s like crack. You know its bad for you but you just can’t stop yourself).

My most recent find is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I also have a weakness for dystopian fiction (Aside: another great dystopian young adult series is Uglies by Scott Westerfeld) so I really couldn’t help myself. I really suck a summarizing novels but, in essence, two teenagers from each of the 12 districts in this society are chosen to compete in a reality television death match. Only one is allowed to survive. It’s is supremely fucked up but fantastic. I finished the whole thing in one day because I could not put it down. And then there is a sequel (Catching Fire, in case you were wondering) and although I highly recommend you read both you will be supremely frustrated when you finish the second book because the third one isn’t out yet!

Another note: How to trick your husband/significant other into reading this book, don’t tell him the narrator is a girl. That’s right. I got Brian to read it and he liked it. Ha!
About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on October 4, 2009, in Confessions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

