Musings on My Inadequacies as an English Major

About three months ago I decided to take the plunge. I decided I was going to go back to school. Let’s put this in some context. I graduated almost five years ago with a degree in Marketing. Why, you may ask, do I want to go back to school for an English degree of all things? The thing is: I really really hated my major by the time second semester of Senior year rolled around. At that point it was too late to change: I’d declared my intent to graduate, I’d rubbed it in my brother’s face that I was graduating the same time as him and he was two years older than me. So there I was. Just graduated with no idea what I really wanted to do. I started working in food service and was so good at my job that I seriously considered restaurant management as a career path; however, I get way too stressed out for that to work for me. Back to square one.

Square one just happened to be my original life plan: to be a writer. In all honesty, an English degree is not really going to make me more qualified to be an author, but I like to have some sort of plan. And I love school. (Right now, in fact, I am happily pretending that I’m an undergrad again hanging out on the top floor of the library not doing homework, just like I used to do.) So I enrolled in a 300-level lit course. No big deal, right? I’ve taken 300-level courses before, how hard can it be?

Apparently, a lot harder than I thought it was going to be. I have spent the better part of two days working on my take-home midterm which boils down to two mini-papers about two pages apiece. And I think I’ve made some really intelligent and good points. But man. I do not know how to write papers anymore. My prose has gotten extremely lazy in the last five years and I feel like I sound like an idiot. Which I’m sure I don’t. But maybe I do.

Am I really cut out for this?

About Kirsten

Wife, mother, writer and all around knerd. Maker of cookies, scarves and really big messes.

Posted on March 5, 2009, in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

